Mud!

Believe it not its actually rained a bit this week, and not just enough to wet the leaves but some actual mud-creating accumulation. With thunderstorms every morning today has been the first day that I’ve been able to get out and hit the trails.

 

Image

 

I still hit a series of sun showers, but what the hey, I was under the tree canopy for most of the time..

 

Image

 

Geeze – those roots don’t look anywhere as slippery as they really were this morning. I’ll admit, I’m a bit rusty on wet trail riding, and the tire combo and panniers didn’t help. I managed to stay upright for MOST of the time, but I did put her down twice. No damage done.

 

Image

 

The Contis are a great pavement/trail transition tire, but mud isn’t their strong suit. They clog up real quick and the compound doesn’t provide a heck of a lot of grip in the wet. Lesson learned. Slow it down and shift my weight back when the trail gets mucky…

Leave a Reply

